h1

In which I am calmer

May 4, 2012

That fruit tart that arrived yesterday was easily the most delicious thing I’ve had in weeks! Wow. I didn’t eat the crust, because anything crackery tastes like bark, but damn, the rest of it was ridiculous.

Anyway, I attribute it with healing powers. I also had some big surprises in the form of my awesome cousins who showed up from Massachusetts and North Carolina to, well, surprise me! I love them so much, and there was much intense laughter and, once my brother arrived, more intense laughter. He just adds spice to the proceedings. I should call him “Mrs Dash.” (yeah, I’m a little worn out at the moment)

Anyway. I will just mention that these moments represent the upside of cancer. The part where friends and family rally around you. I maybe sound spoiled sometimes, but I am genuinely grateful for so much. And that includes every one of you sending love. I am unfairly blessed.

Cancer does suck, but it also reveals every aspect of the human condition.

I’m grateful today that my mother, whom I sometimes think is overly concerned with appearances, encouraged me to get dressed and put on some of the 3,000 pounds of cosmetics I have on my dresser. Superficial, but I felt a lot better with a little mascara.

And, Maven, I have to let you know that a giant pool of laughter erupted when I explained your wardrobe concept of “Denim Circus.” you are ingenious.

So, that’s all for tonight. Let’s all sing “I feel love” by Donna Summer as we drift off to sleep, counting our blessings. Count! Sing! I demand it!!

20120504-233815.jpg
here’s a picture of my cat napping with me.

38 comments

  1. Eek! I managed to miss THREE updates! But I’m back, bella, I’m back and caught up … and I’m so sorry that you’ve had to deal with more parental drama, but happy to hear that things have calmed down. And the Beautiful Kong makes up for so much!


    • He does make things better. And thank you for the well-wishes. Xoxo


  2. Sounds like a lovely day! Well, fruit tarts, friends and Kong make every day a good one. Also, mascara is always a plus:)
    Xxoo


    • The mascara was wonderful. But my mom was right — you feel better with some color around the face.


  3. Mmmm fruit n’ custard + hilarious cousins! That is one fantastic combo to savor!! You look resplendent in your mink and I hope you are having a really wonderful day!


    • We had a great day. It really buoys the spirits to have visitors not wanting to draw my blood or discuss Billy Joel. I owe you a phone call!


      • We can talk about Billy Joel or Christie Brinkley or Paul Cousineau … anyone you want babe πŸ˜‰


  4. Yay! so glad for moments of brightness. Esp if Denim Circus could help in any way. XOXO


    • It helped a lot!


  5. I’m glad you had a lovely day! xxxxx


    • Thank you, darling one. I miss you. Xoxo


  6. Kong is such a good boy, give him a big squeeze for me for talking such good care of you. xoxo


  7. Just wanted you to know that I did sing “I Feel Love”. It was while we were driving to Niagara Falls with the kids. My husband thinks I’m insane. But he appreciates your name. The Falls say hello.


  8. I will never listen to “I Feel Love” again without thinking of you! πŸ™‚ Glad you’re having happier days, my friend! Love you!


  9. Glad you got such joyful visitors!! You deserve some joy and laughter, that is for sure.

    I’m singin’ it!


  10. Fruit tarts and cousins who make you crack up laughing?! That’s a banner day, my friend. I love that they came just to see you. And you are well loved by oh so many people.

    xoxox


  11. That is the best cat face ever. And the fruit tart looks amazing. I hope there are more of both in your future.


  12. Hope you are doing okay. I get concerned when I don’t see posts from you.


  13. I also get concerned! Then I feel like a brat for making you blog. However, you are to smart, funny, witty and fabulous to keep to yourself! Your fans need you:)
    xxoo


  14. Am happy you had some relief with cousins and laughter and fruit tarts! You deserve more of same! πŸ™‚


  15. Thinking about you!! Hope you are hanging in there. xxoo


  16. I feel YOUR love, always.


  17. Hi friends of our dear Violet:
    Violet AKA Turquoise, is gone. She passed peacefully at home at dawn on May 29. If you’d like any other information, feel free to contact me at hamboxmail@yahoo.com and I can put you in contact with her brother.
    –Becky


  18. Thanks for letting us know, Becky. I have already been missing her. My condolences to her family. Time to go play some Jonathan Richman in her honor.


  19. The world is just not as bright without our dear Violet. 😦


  20. So sorry to hear this this awful news. Becky, please let her family know how much her blog friends will miss her. She was one of a kind.


  21. My sincere condolences. She packed a lot of living into her years. And she knew she was loved. Her blog is a treasure.


  22. I am happy this was V’s / T’s last post. She was peaceful at the end and I imagine her in a land of beautiful fruit tarts, zebra umbrellas and dancing Angela Lansburys forevermore …


    • I agree… I’m glad her last post was update and happy and peaceful. R.I.P. sweet friend…


      • I meant “upbeat” and not “update”.


  23. Our Girl was and will always be the most wonderful and authentic, complex and endearing woman that I, and I’m sure most of us, have ever known and loved. To have had her in my life was sheer joy on every level, even in the darkest of times. She was a gift, pure and simple. A gift from the Heavens that they have now taken back. I will live on here in the physical, for however long I have left to be in this vehicle we call the body, knowing that when my soul flees this plane of space and time, her smile will be there shining like the stars themselves. I will miss you deeply my darling, beautiful, precious sisterfriend. Our strange bird has flown and the mysteries of the universe are hers to behold. As well, the beings of that ether world are blessed to have her, as we all were. Word.


  24. Oh, my bff, I will think of you every time I see fabulous shoes, Chartreuse, an amazing sunset, gorgeous, curly hair- and every time I laugh so hard I have to lie down. That’s going to be a lot.

    Be at peace, darling one. Or stop by and watch TV with me some night- I’ll be watching for you.

    Love you to the moon, my lovely girl.


  25. T’s cousin gave me the news yesterday. Family, friends, know many of us lurkers truly appreciate and am amazed at her strength, courage, beauty and humor. To name a few things. Hope the fam can keep the blog available, at least for awhile. To help others in similar situations also be fighters.


  26. T’s cousin gave me the news yesterday. T, you will be missed by the many friends you knew, and many you did not know. Your beauty, courage, spunk and humor are a gift that I hope, through this blog, your family can keep alive at least for awhile to help others who need to learn how to fight and how to fuck cancer. Am I allowed to use the f-bomb on a blog? We will find out …


  27. Reblogged this on A Musing Mother and commented:
    A dear friend’s cousin has just died of cancer. Her blog details her journey and her fight. It is a gift to all who are fighting their way through cancer and chronic diseases.



Leave a Reply

